Discover the Bourgogne Wine Region: A Taste of Excellence

Embark on a journey to the eastern region of France with our Bourgogne wine map poster, showcasing the stunning Bourgogne region. Spanning from Auxerre in the north to Mâcon in the south, this region is a treasure trove of exceptional wines. In fact, the Burgundy vineyards covered a total of 28,530 hectares (70,500 acres) in 2003.

A Rich History of the Bourgogne Region 

With viticulture dating back to the second century AD, Burgundy has a fascinating history. The Celts may have cultivated vines in the region even before the Roman conquest of Gaul in 51 BC. Due to its land-locked nature, wine from Burgundy remained within the region during medieval times, relying on waterways for transportation. However, with the improvement of roads in the 18th century, commerce in Burgundy wines flourished.

Transformation and Evolution of Burgundy Wine Over the past 75 years, Burgundy wine has undergone significant changes. Following economic depression and the devastation of World War II, vignerons returned to their vineyards, nurturing the soils and vines back to health. However, the next three decades witnessed an increase in chemical fertilizers, resulting in higher yields but wines with less flavor and concentration. The soil quality suffered as a result of excessive chemical concentration.

French Wine Appellations in Bourgogne

Bourgogne boasts 100 appellations classified into four quality categories: Bourgogne, village, premier cru, and grand cru.

  1. Grand Cru: Representing only 2% of production, these wines originate from the finest vineyard sites in the Côte d'Or region. Known for their cellar-worthy characteristics, these wines require aging for a minimum of five to seven years, with some examples maturing gracefully for over 15 years.
  2. Premier Cru: Produced from specific high-quality vineyard sites, premier cru wines constitute 12% of production. While not as esteemed as grand cru, they offer excellent aging potential, typically three to five years.
  3. Village Appellation: Blends of wines from select vineyard sites within the boundaries of 42 villages or from individual unclassified vineyards fall under this category. Each village exhibits unique qualities, and village wines make up 36% of production.
  4. Regional Appellation: The broadest category, AOC Bourgogne, encompasses wines produced throughout the region. These wines are typically intended for immediate consumption within three years of the vintage date.


Exquisite Wines of Burgundy 

Burgundy is renowned for its exceptional wines, some of which have become iconic and highly sought-after. Domaine de la Romanée-Conti, Domaine Leroy, Henri Jayer, Domaine Leflaive, and Domaine Armand Rousseau are among the notable producers crafting wines that fetch top prices in the world.

Indulge in the elegance and allure of Burgundy wines, and experience the unique terroir that has captivated wine enthusiasts for centuries with the Bourgogne wine map in your hands you’ll get an overview of the regions and also get the opportunity to locate both larger and lesser known wine regions.

Zurück zum Blog